Contact us
Leave a message

Latest News

On the 4th of May scientists from eXcorLab visited the Rudolf Virchow Center.

At a meeting with Prof. Dr. Bernhard Nieswandt, Dr. David Stegner and Dr. Georgi Manukjan recent aspects in the use of dialysis methods were discussed.

eXcorLab GmbH was originally founded in 1983 as the biochemistry und cell biology laboratory of Akzo Nobel and deals with membrane applications in medicine and biotechnology. Since 2005 eXcorLab GmbH is an independent company. Core competence of eXcorLab GmbH is performing in vitro and clinical studies and contract research in the field of membrane applications in medicine (dialysis, apheresis, oxygenation). eXcorLab GmbH co-operates with more than 20 international partners in the medical device and pharmaceutical industry.

eXcorLab GmbH accompanies the development of precursors for medical devices (e.g. dialysis and oxygenation membranes, plasma separators oxygenators), and biomaterials (e.g. bone cement) to the application in life sciences (medical device technology, biotechnology).


First Company visit at Simfo - Spezielle Immunologie Forschung + Entwicklung GmbH in Bayreuth

On the 17th of January the first company visit was taking place. Prof. Dr. Bernhard Nieswandt und Dr. David Stegner have met with Dr. Ulrich Pachmann to discuss details of future collaborations.


Dr. David Stegner, Dr. Ulrich Pachmann, Prof. Dr. Bernhard Nieswandt
Dr. David Stegner, Dr. Ulrich Pachmann, Prof. Dr. Bernhard Nieswandt

simfo GmbH is a research and development facility with advanced expertise in personalized medicine, based in Bayreuth, Germany. It focuses particularly on the development of innovative analysis methods in haematological and oncological diagnostics in order to optimize personalized therapy. With maintrac®, simfo GmbH offers an analysis platform for the early detection of circulating tumor cells. This allows more rapid intervention options and therefore better treatment.

 

In simfo, biotechnology and pharmaceutical companies will find a professional partner for conducting scientific studies and for preclinical phases of drug development. Stratification of the patients by means of the maintrac® platform makes it possible to effectively distinguish responders from non-responders.

Successful start of ERDF-project "Thrombo-Inflame"

Kick-off meeting between scientists of the Rudolf Virchow Center and partners from regional companies emphasizes chances of the innovative ERDF-project for the study of thombo-inflammatory diseases.


Involved scientists and cooperation partners at the kick-off meeting of the translation network Thrombo-Inflame
Involved scientists and cooperation partners

Scientists from the Department of Experimental Biomedicine and Vascular Medicine, headed by Prof. Bernhard Nieswandt, and representatives of the six cooperating companies met on Friday, 12 May, to discuss the possibilities and prospects of the newly founded translation network "Thrombo-Inflame". Aim of the network is to provide a platform for scientific exchange bewteen university research and local biotech companies to pool the strengths in favor of developing new diagnostic and therapeutic methods for thromboinflammatory diseases.

Besides the introduction of cooperation partners on the one hand and research projects on the other hand, the meeting provided an excellent opportunity to elaborate the shared objectives and to start initial cooperation projects. Finally, the basis for a successful communication of the progress and achievements of the translation network was set by the presentation of the newly launched project website.

Involved in the project are the scientists Prof. Dr. Bernhard Nieswandt, Prof. Dr. Harald Schulze, Dr. David Stegner, Dr. Julia Preu, Dr. Markus Bender and Dr. Irina Pleines. The cooperation partners include the biotech companies EMFRET analytics, immunoGlobe, eXcorLab, SIMFO and VASOPHARM, as well as the diagnostic company LABOKLIN.

The project is funded with approximately 1.8 million euros by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) and will help to improve the technology transfer between science and industry.

Contact us
Leave a message

Aktuelles

Am 4. Mai besuchten Wissenschaftler der Firma eXcorLab das Rudolf-Virchow-Zentrum.

Bei einem Treffen mit Prof. Dr. Bernhard Nieswandt, Dr. David Stegner und Dr. Georgi Manukjan wurden aktuelle Aspekte der Anwendung von Dialyseverfahren diskutiert.

Die eXcorLab GmbH wurde im Jahr 1983 als biochemisches und zellbiologisches Labor der Firma Akzo Nobel gegründet und beschäftigt sich seither mit Membrananwendungen in Medizin und Biotechnologie. Seit 2005 ist die eXcorLab GmbH ein unabhabhängiges Klein- und mittelständisches Unternehmen im Bereich der Lebenswissenschaften.

Die Kernkompetenz liegt in der Auftragsforschung im Bereich Nephrologie, Dialyse, Apherese und Zellkultur.

Die Firma eXcorLab GmbH begleitet die Entwicklung von Medizinprodukten wie Dialyse- und Oxygenationsmembranen, Knochenzement und andere Materialien zur Anwendung in den Lebenswissenschaften (z.B. Medizintechnik, Biotechnologie).


Erster Firmenbesuch bei Simfo - Spezielle Immunologie Forschung + Entwicklung GmbH in Bayreuth

Am 17. Januar besuchten Herr Prof. Dr. Bernhard Nieswandt und Dr. David Stegner die Firma Simfo in Bayreuth. Beim Treffen mit Dr. Ulrich Pachmann wurde ein Fahrplan für die Kooperationsprojekte besprochen.


Dr. David Stegner, Dr. Ulrich Pachmann, Prof. Dr. Bernhard Nieswandt
Dr. David Stegner, Dr. Ulrich Pachmann, Prof. Dr. Bernhard Nieswandt

Die in Bayreuth ansässige simfo GmbH ist eine Forschungs- und Entwicklungseinrichtung mit hoher Kompetenz in der personalisierten Medizin. Besondere Schwerpunkte bilden die Entwicklung innovativer Analyseverfahren in der hämatologischen und onkologischen Diagnostik zur Optimierung der individualisierten Therapie. Mit maintrac® bietet die simfo GmbH eine Analyseplattform zur frühzeitigen Detektion von zirkulierenden Tumorzellen. Dies ermöglicht raschere Interventionsmöglichkeiten und damit eine verbesserte Therapie.

 

Biotechnik- und Pharmafirmen finden in der simfo einen professionellen Partner in der Durchführung wissenschaftlicher Studien sowie in präklinischen Phasen der Medikamentenentwicklung. Die Stratifzierung der Patienten mit Hilfe der maintrac® Plattform ermöglicht es, Responder von Non-Respondern effektiv zu unterscheiden.

Gelungener Auftakt zu EFRE-Projekt „Thrombo-Inflame“

Kick-off Meeting zwischen Wissenschaftlern des Rudolf-Virchow-Zentrums und Partnern von regionalen mittelständischen Pharma- und Biotech-Unternehmen verdeutlicht die Chancen des innovativen EFRE-Projektes zur Erforschung thrombo-inflammatorischer Erkrankungen.


Beteiligte Wissenschaftler und Kooperationsparner beim Kick-off Meeting des Translationsnetzwerkes Thrombo-Inflame
Die beteiligte Wissenschaftler und Kooperationsparner

Am 12. Mai 2017 trafen sich Wissenschaftler der AG Nieswandt mit Vertretern der sechs kooperierenden Unternehmen, um die Möglichkeiten und Perspektiven des neu gegründeten Translationsnetzwerks "Thombo-Inflame" zu erörtern. Ziel dieses Netzwerkes ist die Schaffung einer Plattform zum wissenschaftlichen Austausch zwischen universitärer Forschung und mittelständischen Unternehmen, um Grundlagen für die Entwicklung neuer Diagnose- und Therapieverfahren im Bereich der thrombo-inflammatorischen Erkrankungen zu schaffen.

Neben den Firmenvorstellungen der Kooperationspartner und den Vorstellungen der Forschungsprojekte der beteiligten Wissenschaftler bot das Meeting eine hervorragende Möglichkeit, bei einem "runden Tisch" die gemeinsam angestrebten Ziele zu besprechen. Außerdem konnten bereits initiale Kooperationsprojekte angeschoben werden. Als Basis für eine erfolgreiche Kommunikation der Entwicklung des Translationsnetzwerkes wurde schließlich die neue Projekt-Website vorgestellt.

Beteiligt am Projekt "Thrombo-Inflame" sind neben Prof. Dr. Bernhard Nieswandt die Wissenschaftler Prof. Dr. Harald Schulze, Dr. David Stegner, Dr. Julia Preu, Dr. Markus Bender und Dr. Irina Pleines. Zu den Partnerfirmen zählen die Biotechnologieunternehmen EMFRET analytics, immunoGlobe, eXcorLab, SIMFO und VASOPHARM, sowie das Diagnostikunternehmen LABOKLIN.

Das Projekt wird mit rund 1,8 Millionen Euro aus dem Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) gefördert und stärkt den Technologietransfer zwischen Hochschulforschung und mittelständischen Unternehmen.